Can I recover the files back to the original drive?
No, we highly recommend saving the recover files to a different drive. But you can move it back to the original drive after restoring.
The storage structure of the lost files would be altered or damaged by any changes on the drive. If you save the recovered files back to the same drive, the original data structures and data content would be corrupted or overwritten, which causes permanent data loss. So you should prepare another disk to save the files.